Asia Cup Cricket 2023 Schedule, Team Squads, Live Broadcast

Asia Cup Cricket 2023India wins 2023 Asia Cup Trophy

The Asia Cup 2023 will be the 16th edition, co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. For the first time, the Asia Cup will be hosted in a hybrid model for the first time; four matches in Pakistan and the rest of the nine in Sri Lanka. Six teams are set to participate in this ODI tournament, which is slated from 30 August – 17 September 2023 serving as a warm-up series for the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

Asia Cup Tickets 2023

Tickets for the  Asia Cup 2023 in Pakistan will be on sale starting August 12, available at affordable rates at to mark the event’s return after 15 years. The tickets for the Sri Lanka leg are to be announced soon. Tickets will also be available offline at retail outlets.

Asia Cup 2023 Schedule

The much-anticipated India vs. Pakistan match is on September 2nd in Kandy. Four matches will take place in Pakistan, with the remaining nine in Sri Lanka. Asia Cup 2023 schedule fixtures list, dates and venues for Asia Cup 2023 are placed below.

Date Matches Venue
30 Aug Pakistan won by 238 runs against Nepal Multan, Pakistan
31 Aug Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets against Bangladesh Kandy, Sri Lanka
2 Sep Pakistan v India – No result Kandy, Sri Lanka
3 Sep Bangladesh won by 89 runs against Afghanistan Lahore, Pakistan
4 Sep India won by 10 wickets against Nepal Kandy, Sri Lanka
5 Sep Sri Lanka won by 2 runs against Afghanistan Lahore, Pakistan
6 Sep Pakistan vs Bangladesh, Super Fours, 1st Match Lahore, Pakistan
9 Sep Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, Super Fours, 2nd Match Colombo, Sri Lanka
10 Sep Pakistan vs India, Super Fours, 3rd Match Colombo, Sri Lanka
12 Sep India vs Sri Lanka, Super Fours, 4th Match Colombo, Sri Lanka
14 Sep Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, Super Fours, 5th Match Colombo, Sri Lanka
15 Sep India vs Bangladesh, Super Fours, 6th Match Colombo, Sri Lanka
17 Sep India vs Sri Lanka, Asia Cup 2023 Final Colombo, Sri Lanka
18 Sep Reserve day for the final

Asia Cup Teams Squad 2023

Asia Cup Teams 2023 squads are being updated below as they are being announced. The latest Asia Cup 2023 teams squads players list for all 6 teams is  placed below;

Teams Squad for Asia Cup 2023
India Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna, Sanju Samson (backup)
Pakistan Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Tayyab Tahir (backup)
Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Mahesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan
Afghanistan Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Hashmatullah Shahidi(C), Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Mohammad Nabi, Mujib ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Samiullah Shinwari, Afsar Zazai (WK), Nijat Masoud, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Qais Ahmad.
Bangladesh Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das, Tanzid Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Sheikh Mahedi, Nasum Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Mohammad Naim
Nepal Gyanendra Malla, Dev Khanal, Bhim Sharki, Aarif Sheikh, Sundeep Jora, Rohit Paudel (C), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh (Wk), Pratish GC, Gulsan Jha, Dipendra Singh Airee, Kishore Mahato, Karan KC, Kamal Singh, Arjun Saud (Wk), Sompal Kami, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mousom Dhakal, Lalit Rajbanshi, Kishore Mahato, Surya Tamang.

Asia Cup 2023 Groups & Format

As for the Asia Cup’s format, the six teams will be split into two groups. India, Pakistan, and Nepal form Group A, while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan are in Group B.

Each team will play two matches apiece in the first round of the competition with the top two sides from that stage moving into the second round, i.e. the Super 4 stage.

In the Super 4 stage, all four teams will face off against the other three sides, making it six more matches during this time with the top two teams making it to the final.

The tournament comprises 13 matches in total, including group stages, Super 4 matches, and a final. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 4, and the leading two teams will contest in the final. The full squad, schedule will be placed below.

How did Nepal Qualify for Asia Cup 2023?

Nepal made it to the Asia Cup 2023 by winning the ACC Men’s Premier Cup in which they defeated UAE in the final.

The Rohit Paudel-captained Nepal team routed United Arab Emirates (UAE) by seven wickets in the final at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground in Kirtipur.

A total of 10 teams participated in that tournament, divided into two groups of five apiece.

Nepal topped Group A with three wins and an abandoned match while UAE edged out Kuwait to top Group B.

In the first semifinal, Nepal looked good to make the final before rain forced the organizers to abandon the match. Nepal proceeded to the final after having finished at the top in the group stages.

UAE then edged out Oman by two runs in the second semifinal which was rain-interrupted again.

Asia Cup 2023 Broadcast TV Channels, Live Streaming

Country Asia Cup 2023 TV Broadcast & Live Stream
India & Subcontinent
Star Sports, Disney+ Hotstar app and website
Yupp TV
South Africa
Bangladesh Gazi TV (GTV), Rabbithole and the Toffee app and websites
Afghanistan Ariana TV
New Zealand
Yupp TV
TNT Sport 1, TNT Sports app
Sri Lanka SLRC (Channel Eye)
Pakistan Ten Sports, Tapmad app and website
UAE CricLife MAX via eLife TV, Switch TV

Previous Asia Cup Winners

  • 1984: India
  • 1986: Sri Lanka
  • 1988: India
  • 1990: India
  • 1995: India
  • 1997: Sri Lanka
  • 2000: Pakistan
  • 2004: Sri Lanka
  • 2008: Sri Lanka
  • 2010: India
  • 2012: Pakistan
  • 2014: Sri Lanka
  • 2016: India
  • 2018: India
  • 2022: Sri Lanka
  • 2023: TBD

Sri Lanka holds the championship title from the previous event, played as a T20 tournament. They had beaten Pakistan in the final after qualifying for it on the back of wins over India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in the Super Four stage.

The tournament will feature the 5 full members of the Asian Cricket Council: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and the champions from the previous event Sri Lanka. Nepal, who won the 2023 ACC Men’s Premier Cup, will also be part of the competition, marking their debut in the ACC Asia Cup.

Vijay Roy

A former six-time gully cricket man-of-the-tournament in his local competitions, Vijay took to writing about the game when he realised the IPL scouts weren't going to add his name to the auctions. He now helps fellow cricket fans with all the latest in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *