MLC 2023 Schedule, Team Squads, Live Broadcast

MI New York Crowned Champions of MLC 2023

The 2023 Major League Cricket MLC season, the inaugural season of the franchise T20 cricket league established by American Cricket Enterprises (ACE), is set to kick off on July 13th and conclude on July 30th 2023 in the United States. With Royal as an official partner, the matches will occur at two venues and be exclusively broadcast on Willow and Sling TV.

ML T20 will follow a single round-robin format, featuring six teams: Texas Super Kings, Seattle Orcas, Los Angeles Knight Riders, Washington Freedom, MI New York, and San Francisco Unicorns. The league will feature notable players including Harmeet Singh, Aaron Finch, Jason Roy, Adam Zampa, and Moises Henriques among others. MLC 2023 schedule, teams, squads, broadcast and live streaming details are placed below.

Though finishing fourth in the league stage, MI New York showcased superior performance in the playoffs. They beat Washington Freedom and Texas Super Kings in the playoffs and secured an emphatic victory against Seattle Orcas in the final. The final saw the Orcas score 183/9 in 20 overs, only to be bested by MI New York’s score of 184/3 in 16 overs, with a comfortable win by 7 wickets. Trent Boult led as the top wicket-taker, with Rashid Khan also making key contributions. Despite Pollard’s injury, Pooran, Brevis, and David upheld the batting line-up, with captain Pooran emerging as the star player in the final.

MLC 2023 Schedule, Fixtures

Throughout the inaugural season, a total of 19 T20 matches will be played, including playoffs and finals. The matches will be held at Grand Prairie Stadium and Church Street Park during the group stage, while all playoff matches and the final will take place at Grand Prairie Stadium.

Tickets for the games have been made available to the public. Please note that the dates and times mentioned are in Central Time for matches at Grand Prairie Stadium and in Eastern Time for games at Church Street Park.

Date Major League Cricket 2023 Match Time Table Time Venue
Jul-13 Texas Super Kings v Los Angeles Knight Riders 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-14 MI New York v San Francisco Unicorns 3:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-14 Seattle Orcas v Washington Freedom 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-15 San Francisco Unicorns v Seattle Orcas 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-16 Texas Super Kings v Washington Freedom 3:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-16 Los Angeles Knight Riders v MI New York 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-17 Texas Super Kings v MI New York 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-18 Los Angeles Knight Riders v San Francisco Unicorns 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-20 Washington Freedom v Los Angeles Knight Riders 5:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-21 Seattle Orcas v Texas Super Kings 5:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-22 Washington Freedom v San Francisco Unicorns 5:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-23 Los Angeles Knight Riders v Seattle Orcas 1:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-23 MI New York v Washington Freedom 5:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-24 San Francisco Unicorns v Texas Super Kings 5:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-25 MI New York v Seattle Orcas 5:30 pm (Eastern) Church Street Park
Jul-27 Seattle Orcas vs Texas Super Kings, Qualifier (1 v 2) 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-28 Washington Freedom vs MI New York, Eliminator (3 v 4) 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium
Jul-30 Seattle Orcas vs MI New York, Final 7:30 pm (Central) Grand Prairie Stadium

Major League Cricket Team Squads 2023

Texas Super Kings (owned by Chennai Super Kings): Faf Du Plessis (captain), Devon Conway, Lahiru Milantha, Milind Kumar, Sami Aslam, Cameron Stevenson, Mitchell Santner, Daniel Sams, Gerald Coetzee, Dwayne Bravo, Rusty Theron, David Miller, Calvin Savage, Cody Chetty, Zia Shahzad, Md Mohsin, Saiteja Mukkamalla.

Los Angeles Knight Riders (Owned by Kolkata Knight Riders): Sunil Narine (captain), Andre Russell, Jason Roy, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Zampa, Rilee Rossouw, Spencer Johnson, Ali Khan, Unmukt Chand, Jaskaran Malhotra, Nitish Kumar, Corne Dry, Ali Sheikh, Saif Badar, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Bhaskar Yadram

Seattle Orcas (partly owned by Delhi Capitals): Wayne Parnell (captain), Quinton de Kock, Dasun Shanaka, Sikandar Raza, Harmeet Singh, Shehan Jayasuriya, Shubham Ranjane, Cameron Gannon, Aaron Jones, Nauman Anwar, Phani Simhadri, Angelo Perera, Matthew Tromp

MI New York (owned by Mumbai Indians): Kieron Pollard (captain), Trent Boult, Rashid Khan, Tim David, Dewald Brevis, David Wiese, Kagiso Rabada, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Behrendorff, Steven Taylor, Hammad Azam, Ehsan Adil, Nosthush Kenjige, Monank Patel, Sarbjeet Ladda, Shayan Jahangir, Kyle Phillip, Saideep Ganesh

Washington Freedom (partnership with New South Wales): Moises Henriques (captain), Anrich Nortje, Wanindu Hasaranga, Marco Jansen, Glenn Phillips, Adam Milne, Josh Philippe, Andries Gous, Mukhtar Ahmed, Obus Pienaar, Saurabh Netravalkar, Saad Ali, Dane Piedt, Sujith Gowda, Justin Dill, Akhilesh Bodugum, Ben Dwarshuis

San Francisco Unicorns (partnership with Victoria): Aaron Finch (captain), Marcus Stoinis, Lungi Ndigi, Corey Anderson, Liam Plunkett, Tajinder Singh, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Carmi Le Roux, Brody Couch, David White, Smit Patel, Sanjay Krishnamurthi

Major League Cricket 2023 Points Table

Team Matches Won Lost Points NRR
Seattle Orcas 3 3 0 6 +1.254
Texas Super Kings 4 2 2 4 +0.632
Washington Freedom 3 2 1 4 +0.276
San Francisco Unicorns 3 2 1 4 +0.133
MI New York 3 1 2 2 +1.100
Los Angeles Knight Riders 4 0 4 0 -2.675

MLC 2023 Venues

Two venues have been chosen to host the first-ever edition of the MLC. These are Grand Prairie in Texas and Morrisville in North Carolina.

Matches will be divided between these two venues with the first phase of encounters played in Texas and the remaining group games hosted in North Carolina.

The playoffs will be hosted in Grand Prairie again.

The stadium in Fort Lauderdale where international matches have been played in the past, won’t be used for this year’s MLC because it will be used to host T20Is between West Indies and India.

How to Watch the Major League Cricket Broadcast for 2023?

As is the case with other T20 tournaments, the rights to the first edition of MLC have been sold to different broadcasters across the world.

Willow TV, which also owns a stake in the MLC, will broadcast this year’s competition in USA and Canada.

Indian fans can watch the Major League Cricket on Sports18 on TV while the online live streaming of this competition can be seen on the Jio Cinema app and FanCode app.

Here’re the remaining broadcasters:

  • Australia: FOX Sports / FOXTel app
  • Caribbean: SportsMax
  • New Zealand: SKY NZ
  • Pakistan: A Sports
  • South Africa: SuperSport
  • UK: BT Sport / BT Sport app

Leave a comment