Tamil Nadu Premier League TNPL T20 2024 Schedule, Team Squads, Live Broadcast

Tamil Nadu Premier LeagueIf you are looking for all the information on one of the biggest state T20 leagues in the world, the Tamil Nadu Premier League, then you have come to the right place here. All of the TNPL match schedule and fixtures, team information, live streaming and telecast, and format can be found below.

How is the TNPL Played? The TNPL Format

Tamil Nadu Premier League is a state-level T20 competition that is hosted in the state of Tamil Nadu every year. Teams from the state of Tamil Nadu go head to head in a very similar manner to the IPL or other such T20 leagues from around the world with the only condition being that these should belong to the state of Tamil Nadu.

Currently, there are eight teams which feature in the competition with four others having played and become defunct. Each of these current eight teams represents a city in Tamil Nadu.

The eight teams in the TNPL face off in a single-leg round-robin format with each of the sides facing off against the other once. This makes it seven matches for each of the teams in the group stages and a total of 28 games at that point.

The top four sides at the end of the group stage enter the playoffs from where the top two face off in the first Qualifier and the teams ranked third and fourth face off in an Eliminator.

The winner of the first Qualifier makes it to the final while the losing team faces the winner of the Eliminator in what is called the second Qualifier.

The second Qualifier winner makes it to the final to take on the winner of the first Qualifier.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2024 Schedule

We are still awaiting the schedule and match list for the 2024 edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League. Last year, i.e. in 2023, the tournament began on June 12 and went on for a month till July 12 when the final was held.

Tamil Nadu Premier League Squads 2024

The eight teams taking part in this edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League are

  • Chepauk Super Gillies (owned by Metronation Chennai)
  • Dindigul Dragons (owned by Take Solutions Ltd)
  • IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans (owned by I Dream Cinemas)
  • Lyca Kovai Kings (owned by Lyca Productions)
  • Nellai Royal Kings (owned by Crown Forts Ltd.)
  • Ba11sy Trichy (owned by Drumstick Productions)
  • Salem Spartans (owned by Vivo South Chennai distributor Selvakumar)
  • Siechem Madurai Panthers (owned by Pooja Damodran)

There have been other teams in the TNPL that no longer take part in the competition. These include Tuti Patriots, Karaikudi Kaalai, V. B. Kanchi Veerans, V. B. Thiruvallur Veerans, Ruby Kanchi Warriors, Madurai Super Giants and Ruby Trichy Warriors.

The latest TNPL squads for each of these sides will be updated below.

Where will the TNPL 2024 be Played? Tamil Nadu Premier League Venues

The 2024 edition of the TNPL will be held across the state of Tamil Nadu. The following venues had been used in 2023:

Indian Cement Company Ground in Tirunelveli, NPR College Ground in Dindigul, SNR College Cricket Ground in Coimbatore and Salem Cricket Foundation Stadium in Salem.

Expect something similar in 2024 as well but we are still awaiting more information on this.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2024 Live Broadcast & Streaming

The broadcasting rights for the Tamil Nadu Premier League were won by Star Sports in 2016 which were to continue till 2023. Last year, i.e. in 2023, the Tamil Nadu Premier League was also live-streamed on Fancode online.

More information on who will telecast the 2024 edition of the TNPL will be updated soon.

What Happened Last Year at the TNPL T20?

Lyca Kovai Kings clinched the 2023 edition of the TNPL with a solid run in the tournament. They would go on to win eight of the nine matches they played in the competition including a rout of the Nellai Royal Kings in the final.

Earlier, Lyca Kovai Kings had topped the points table with six wins from seven games and faced the second-placed Dindigul Dragons in the first Qualifier. Incidentally, even the Dragons finished with six wins but were nudged to the second spot by their poor net run rate.

The teams placed third and fourth were Nellai Royal Kings and Siechem Madurai Panthers respectively, with five and four wins apiece.

Kovai Kings, who had beaten the Dragons in the group stages of the tournament, made it two wins in a row over them as they piled up 193/7 in their 20 overs and restricted their opponents to 163/9.

Nellai Royal Kings knocked out the Madurai Panthers in the Eliminator by four runs and then edged out the Dragons by six runs to make it to the final.

In the title decider, Kovai Kings amassed 205/5 in their 20 overs before bowling the Royal Kings out for 101.

Previous Winners of the TNPL T20

  • 2022: Lyca Kovai Kings
  • 2021: Chepauk Super Gillies & Lyca Kovai Kings
  • 2020: Not Held Because of Covid-19
  • 2019: Chepauk Super Gillies
  • 2018: Madurai Panthers
  • 2017: Chepauk Super Gillies
  • 2016: Tuti Patriots

Vijay Roy

A former six-time gully cricket man-of-the-tournament in his local competitions, Vijay took to writing about the game when he realised the IPL scouts weren't going to add his name to the auctions. He now helps fellow cricket fans with all the latest in the world of cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *